CLAT stands for Common Law Admission Test which is conducted at the national level. It is a centralized national level entrance exam basically for admission to NLUs. There are twenty- two NLUs (National Law Universities) in India that take admission on the basis of the CLAT exam. Apart from government universities, many self- financed and private law universities admit students on the basis of marks obtained in the CLAT exam. Private companies like Coal India, Steel Authority of India, ONGC, BHEL, Oil India, etc. hire students for legal positions if they clear the cut-off of CLAT Post Graduation (CLAT PG).

CLAT exams are conducted for the students after they clear their Higher Secondary exams i.e. class 12th exam for admission to integrated under graduate degree in LAW i.e. BA LL.B and after graduation in law it admits students for Master of LAW i.e. LL.M.

The CLAT exam matches the difficulty level of the Indian Institute of Technology Joint Entrance Exam and All India Pre Medical Test NEET.

The Common Law Admission Test (CLAT)was to be conducted each year by each of the law colleges and the responsibility of conducting the exam was to be rotated and given on the basis of seniority in the establishment. However, finally, in 2015, a fresh MoU was signed by the sixteen National Law Universities, except for National Law University, Delhi for the CLAT 2015 being conducted by Dr. Ram Manohar Lohia National Law University, Lucknow whereby all the National Law Universities are now part of the centralized admission process without anyone being left out.

THE OFFICIAL SITE OF CLAT IS: https://consortiumofnlus.ac.in/

CLAT to Switch Back to Offline Mode from 2019


  • The duration of the exam is two hours.
  • The exam is conducted in offline mode.
  • The people having Indian nationality or are NRI are eligible to appear for the exam.
  • For the undergraduate degree, students must have a class 12th or Senor Secondary School certificate from a recognized Board with not less than 45% marks in the aggregate which decreases to 40% in the case of SC and ST candidates.
  • There is no upper age restriction for the test.
  • For the Master’s degree in LAW, students must have LL. B/B. L. Degree or an equivalent degree from a recognized University with not less than 50% marks in the aggregate which decreases to 45% in the case of SC and ST candidates.
  • The CLAT paper consists of 150 multiple choice questions in the exam.
  • There is a total of five sections in the CLAT exam paper. In the exam students need to answer questions from subjects such as:
    • Legal Aptitude
    • Quantitative Techniques ( Mathematics)
    • Legal Reasoning
    • Logical Reasoning
    • English including Comprehension
    • Current affairs including General Knowledge
    • Legal General knowledge
  • For every correct answer, aspirants are rewarded one mark and for each wrong answer, 0.25 marks are deducted from the aspirant’s total score.
  • In the CLAT form, the students are given a preference list in which each student fills the preference list, according to the colleges he/she desires. Then, on the basis of these preferences and ranks obtained, students are allocated colleges. As the NLUs are established by the respective state governments, therefore most NLUs also have reservations for their domiciled candidates.


Legal Research Associate vacancy in Delhi NLU

The list of National Law Universities in India according to their year of establishment :

  1. National Law School of India University, Bangalore
  2. NALSAR University of Law, Hyderabad
  3. National Law Institute University, Bhopal
  4. The West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences, Kolkata
  5. National Law University, Jodhpur, Jodhpur
  6. Hidayatullah National Law University, Raipur
  7. Gujarat National Law University, Gandhinagar
  8. Dr. Ram Manohar Lohia National Law University, Lucknow
  9. National University of Advanced Legal Studies, Kochi
  10. Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law, Patiala
  11. Chanakya National Law University, Patna
  12. National Law University Odisha, Cuttack
  13. Damodaram Sanjivayya National Law University, Vishakhapatnam
  14. National University of Study and Research in Law, Ranchi
  15. National Law School and Judicial Academy, Guwahati
  16. Tamil Nadu National Law University, Trichy
  17. Maharashtra National Law University, Mumbai
  18. Maharashtra National Law University, Nagpur
  19. Maharashtra National Law University, Aurangabad
  20. Himachal Pradesh National Law University, Shimla
  21. Dharmashastra National Law University, Jabalpur
  22. Dr. B.R. Ambedkar National Law University, Sonipat

MORE DETAILS AT: https://www.sarvgyan.com/articles/clat-2021

It was my hobby to write which pushed me to be a content writer. It has been for 2 years that I am doing work as a content writer and many blogs. People loving my articles is something that gives me the courage to write more and more! Writing and reading are something that I am passionate about!